Click to Home
Your GovernmentCity ServicesOur CommunityHow Do I
Go To Search
Pistol Permits / CPL
Pistol Purchase Permits
Recent changes to Michigan law (December 18, 2012) have changed the pistol permit requirements.  Specifics to the law can be found on the links following this section.
  • Residents of the State of Michigan can apply for a purchase permit at any Law Enforcement Agency in the State or at any Firearms Dealer.  Exceptions are transactions between private citizens and purchases at Gun Shows.  Permits must be obtained before these types of transactions can be completed.
  • A driver’s license with current address must be provided.
  • You must be 18 years of age to purchase from a private citizen in Michigan or 21 years of age to purchase from a federally licensed dealer.
  • You must be a U.S. citizen or resident legal alien (must show I-551 card) to apply.
  • You must not be otherwise legally prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm (i.e.: felony conviction, assault conviction).
  • Residents must qualify under all state and federal firearms regulations to own a pistol.
  • A background investigation will be conducted, regardless of the number of times you have applied. The permit is usually available the next business day. There is a $5 administration fee for a license to purchase. One permit is needed for each weapon.
  • The permit will need to have your signature notarized by a notary public prior to purchasing a firearm.
  • The license to purchase a pistol is then issued to you and valid for 30 calendar days and the permit must be returned to the agency that originally supplied the permit within 10 days after the purchase of the weapon. 

Firearms Regulation Resources 
Requirements to Obtain a Concealed Pistol License (CPL)
  • Must be at least 21 years of age
  • Must be a U.S. citizen or resident legal alien who has resided in Michigan for at least six months
  • All other requirements are found in the Michigan Concealed License Application Kits, which are available at the Records Department during regular business hours, Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, or online at the website listed under CPL Resources. CPL Form
  • Upon completion of all requirements, the CPL application is processed by the Wayne County Clerk’s Office in downtown Detroit or at the Wayne County Sheriff's Department substation, located at Michigan Ave and Henry Ruff, for Wayne County residents only.  Residents of other counties will have to check with their respective County.

CPL Resources 
Al Cox
Director of Public Safety / Chief of Police

201 S. Main
Plymouth, MI 48170
Emergency: 9-1-1 

Phone Administration:
(734) 453-1234 ext. 219 

Non-Emergency / Dispatch:
(734) 453-8600
Police Records:
(734) 453-1234 ext. 219
(734) 455-1664

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm


Nixle logo.png

Police Forms & Documents